Pride Serbia. Lettera al governo serbo per proteggere la marcia dei diritti gay


Stefano Bucaioni, responsabile relazione con l’estero di Arcigay ha partecipato ad un’azione di lobbing internazinale sul Governo serbo. Ecco, in inglese, il testo della lettera spedita al Governo serbo e firmata da 53 associazioni gay di diversi paesi.

LGBT Leaders Worldwide Call on Serbian Government to Protect Pride Marchers

We openly lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) leaders and elected officials from around the world are writing to express our deep solidarity with our brothers and sisters in Belgrade, Serbia, as they march in their October 10, 2010, Gay Pride Parade.

We call upon all Serbian political leaders and police forces to do all in their power to protect the human rights of the marchers to assemble peaceably and march as LGBT people as our supporters do throughout much of the world.

We also call upon Serbian politicians, as ones responsible for building a democratic society, to send a message of tolerance, publicly support the Gay Pride Parade and join the march.

The October 10 parade will be the first Belgrade gay rights march since 2001 when anti-gay extremists attacked the participants and forced the event’s cancellation. An attempt was made for a parade in 2009, but it was called off hours before it began because bodily harm was threatened against the participants.

The Serbian government must put itself on the side of those who peaceably assemble and not give in to those who would deny the marchers their human rights.
We applaud Serbian Minister of Interior Ivica Dacic for his public commitment to protect the safety of the gay marchers on October 10.

We expect Minister Dacic to thwart any attempt to stop the march from proceeding to its conclusion.
Our eyes and the eyes of human rights defenders around the globe will be watching Belgrade on October 10, as we witness LGBT Serbians and their supporters peacefully exercising their human right to be visible in the streets, free from violence and fear.

Endorsed by:

Erwin Abbeloos
President, THE WARNING

Sahran Abeysundara
Chairperson EQUAL GROUND
Colombo, SRI LANKA

Nikolai Alekseev
Chief Organizer, Moscow Pride
Moscow, RUSSIA

Tom Ammiano
California State Assemblymember
San Francisco, USA

Oscar Atadero
Coordinator, ProGay Philippines

Andrew Barr MLA
Minister for Education/Training, Australian Capital Territory

Stefano Bucaioni
Director for International Affairs, ARCIGAY
Bologna, ITALY

Pat Bumgardner
Reverend, Metropolitan Community Churches
New York, USA

Jan Benec
Chairman, Iniciativa Inakost
Bratislava, SLOVAKIA

George Broadhead
Secretary, Pink Triangle Trust
Kenilworth, UK

Florin Buhuceanu
President, Euroregional Center for Public Initiatives
Bucharest, ROMANIA

Stephan Corbin
President of Coordination InterPride France,
Angers, FRANCE

Tom Duane
New York State Senate
New York, USA

Hagai El-Ad
Director, Association for Civil Rights in Israel
Tel Aviv, ISRAEL

Linda Freimane and Martin K.I. Christensen
Co-Chairs, European Region of the International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans & Intersex Association (ILGA)
Brussels, BELGIUM

Yonatan Gher
Director, Jerusalem Open House
Jerusalem, ISRAEL

Andrea Gilbert
Co-Administrator, Athens Pride
Athens, GREECE

Ian Hunter
Member of Parliament

Olivier Jablonsky

Klaus Jetz
Director, Lesbian and Gay Federation in Germany LSVD
Cologne, GERMANY

Sharon Kleinbaum
Senior Rabbi Congregation Beit Simchat Torah
New York, USA

Mark Leno
California State Senator
San Francisco, USA
Jerimarie Liesegang, PhD
Executive Director, Connecticut TransAdvocacy Coalition
Hartford, USA

Molly McKay, Esq.
National Media Director, Marriage Equality USA
San Francisco, USA

Frank Mugisha
Director, Sexual Minorities Uganda – SMUG
Kampala, UGANDA

Irina Nita
Executive Director, ACCEPT Association
Bucharest, ROMANIA

David Norris
Senator Seanad Eireann [Parliament]

Dédé Oetomo
Founder, Board of Trustees, GAYa NUSANTARA

King Oey
Chairman, Board of Trustees, Arus Pelangi

Herminio Adorno Ortega
Director, Centro de la Comunidad Gai Inc.
Puerto Rico, USA

Alexandr Paluyan
Chairman, Initiative for Sexual and Gender Equality

Michael Petrelis
Organizer, Gays Without Borders/America
San Francisco, USA

Tracey Sandilands
Executive Director, Pride Toronto
Ontario, CANADA

Noa Sattath
Former Executive Director, Jerusalem Open House
Jerusalem, ISRAEL

Penny Sharpe
Member of the NSW Legislative Council

Richard Stern
Director, Asociation Agua Buena

Sean Strub
Founder, POZ Magazine
Milford, USA
Peter Tatchell
Community Organizer, OutRage!
London, UK

Louis-Georges Tin
President, IDAHO = International Day Against Homophobia/Transphobia

Marco Tranchino
Campaigns Officer, Central London Humanist Group
London, UK

William Urich
Chair, InterPride Cmte on Int’ GLBTI Human Rights
New Britain, USA

Gary Virginia
People With AIDS Caucus
San Francisco, US